Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools


MISSION: The Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools (formerly the Dubuque Community School District Foundation) promotes the importance of public education by increasing community investment for the enhancement of student achievement in the Dubuque Public Schools. FDPS is a nonprofit organization committed to providing resources for all students of the Dubuque Community School District.

Save the Date: Fifth Annual Enhancing Excellence Luncheon is Wednesday, April 12

The FDPS annual luncheon is scheduled for Wednesday, April 12 at the Grand River Center.  This noon event is the foundation’s primary fundraiser, with proceeds supporting FDPS operations and Dubuque Community School District project grants.

Guest speakers include the 2017 FDPS Distinguished Hometown Alumnus (TBA), Ann Johnson of Sageville Elementary – recipient of the 2016 Presidential Award of Excellence in Teaching, and DCSD students.

2017 Distinguished Hometown Alumni Award

The Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools is seeking nominations for the 2017 Distinguished Hometown Alumni Award. This award will be given to a past Hempstead, Senior, or Alternative High School alumnus who currently lives in the Dubuque area and has made a positive impact in the community. The winner will be honored at our annual luncheon on April 12th, 2017. 

Nominations: Nominations for the Distinguished Hometown Alumni award can be submitted online via this link and are accepted until January 15, 2017.

↑ Back to Top


Alternative Learning Center Scholarship Endowment Fund Learn More | Give Now
Arthur J Miller Social Studies Scholarship Give Now
Beverly R. Hodge Fund for Dubuque Public Schools Give Now
Burgart Fund for Dubuque Public School Libraries Learn More | Give Now
Dubuque Community School District Scholarship Fund Learn More | Give Now
Falb Kendall Hunt Instrumental Music Fund Give Now
Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools Learn More | Give Now
Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools Endowment Fund Learn More | Give Now
Joe and Sue Kaesbauer Memorial Scholarship Fund Give Now
Judi Chandlee Tribute to Teachers Endowment Learn More | Give Now
LEAP (Leadership Enrichment Afterschool Program) Learn More | Give Now
Tribute to Teachers Non-Endowed Fund Learn More | Give Now
↑ Back to Top

Pauline Chilton Dancing with the Stars - Dubuque Style!

We are excited to announce that Pauline Chilton will be raising funds on behalf of the Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools during this year's Dubuque Area Chamber of Commerce event: Dancing With the Stars - Dubuque Style!

Pauline has served on the FDPS board of directors since 2015. She is a public school parent, realtor with EXIT Realty, and active community member. Stay tuned over the next few months to participate in some new fundraising events connected to Pauline's efforts  - or make an online donation now!

↑ Back to Top

Featured Program: LEAP (Leadership Enrichment Afterschool Programs)

LEAP (Leadership Enrichment Afterschool Program) offers a variety of after-school activities for middle-school students in Dubuque’s public schools, at no cost to their families.  With a network of community partners, LEAP engages students in broadening their educational experiences by trying new activities, discovering their strength and talents, expanding social circles, reinforcing productive behavior, and building self-confidence.

LEAP is supported by community partnerships and funds raised by the Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools (FDPS).  Anyone can support LEAP with an individual gift or by becoming a corporate sponsor.

Please consider supporting LEAP with a tax deductible donation to the Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools, LEAP Fund.  Together, we can keep this great program in our district!

Download the ​LEAP Donation and Sponsorship Form

↑ Back to Top

Tribute to Teachers Grant Program

In 2016, FDPS Partnered with IntegrUS Credit Union to kick-start the Tribute to Teachers classroom grant program.  Approximately $3,000 in classroom grants were distributed to teachers throughout the Dubuque Community School District (DCSD) on May 3rd, National Teacher Appreciation Day.  Read all about it in our recent press release.

Get involved! 

DCSD employees are eligible to support the Tribute to Teachers endowed fund through automatic payroll deduction.  It’s an easy way to make a collective impact by giving a little every month from your pre-tax income, to a cause that benefits educators and students in Dubuque.

 Click here to download the DCSD payroll deduction enrollment form

↑ Back to Top

Honor Roll Newsletter

Download the most recent Honor Roll Newsletter (PDF)

Enter your email below to receive news from the Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools

Past Editions:

↑ Back to Top
Jennifer Klinkhammer
Title Executive Director
700 Locust St, Suite 195
Dubuque, IA 52001
Board of Directors
  • Kevin Eipperle, President
  • Josh Weidemann, Vice-President
  • Merle Santjer, Treasurer
  • Doug Horstmann, Secretary
  • Roy Hansen, Immediate Past President
  • Sandra Beisker
  • Crenna Brumwell
  • Pauline Chilton
  • Tammy Duehr
  • Mark Fassbinder
  • Maurice Jones
  • Stan Rheingans (Ex Oficio)
  • Ulrike Schultz
  • Chuck Seymour
  • Ted Stieber (Life Member)


All Videos

Recent Videos

Embedded thumbnail for FDPS Highlights Video 2015-2016
FDPS Highlights Video 2015-2016

Highlighting FDPS'

Embedded thumbnail for Great Give Day returns on Tuesday, May 3!
Great Give Day returns on Tuesday, May 3!

A 24-hour, online-only giving event. Learn more at