Clayton County Foundation for the Future Awards Over $21,000 to Support Local Nonprofits

The Clayton County Foundation for the Future (CCFF) awarded $21,820 to area nonprofits May 17 at its annual grant award celebration at the Franklin Hotel in Strawberry Point.

“These grants are made possible by local donors who believe in the future of our communities,” said Emily Sadewasser, donor connections coordinator. “The CCFF was created with the intention of establishing a perpetual endowment fund that would meet the needs of all of Clayton County and the 19 communities within the county.”

At the event, Board Chair Harry Blobaum announced grant awards totaling $21,820 to the following organizations:

  • Berry Tender Child Care Inc -- $1,000 
    Building of an outdoor shed 
  • City of Garber -- $1,000
    Fire equipment trailer and Gator
  • City of Guttenberg – $1,000
    Restoration of Guttenberg pool 
  • City of Monona -- $550
    Mulch for Gardening Waste  
  • City of Postville-Police Department -- $1,000
    Police Solar Speed Monitor Project
  • Clayton County Community Collaboration Council -- $1,000
    Escape Room
  • Clayton County Conservation Board -- $1,000
    New tanks for Turtles
  • Ed-Co Elementary School -- $590
    Family event which will target at-risk youth and parents for an inexpensive evening of glow in the dark dancing, food, music, exercise, and creative fun
  • Edgewood-Colesburg Community Schools
    Programming to support early literacy education
  • Family’s Helping Hand -- $600
    Community-based mentoring program
  • Friends of the Marquette Driftless Area -- $1,000
    After school enrichment program
  • Garnavillo Community Day Care -- $1,000
    Equipment and toy shelving replacement
  • Garnavillo Historical Society -- $1,000
    Replacing inefficient and unsafe florescent light fixtures with safer lighting
  • Strawberry Point Public Library -- $1,000
    To make summer reading a fun learning environment for all ages by using STEM activities, "hands-on programs" and the purchasing of books
  • VCTC, Inc. -- $1,000
    Volga City Opera House Patio

Funding for the grants was made possible by donations to the Clayton County Foundation for the Future Endowment, the Leroy and Colleen Darby Family Endowed Donor-Advised Fund, and the A.J. Spiegel Endowment Fund.

“The Clayton County Foundation for the Future is a ‘give-through’ rather than a ‘give-to’ organization, fundraising not for our own operations but rather to develop funds that are distributed locally,” said Sadewasser. “Through our grants, we help community organizations increase their capacity to serve. We believe in the expertise and creativity of nonprofit organizations, and provide support to help them do what they do best."

Donors who give to endowments like the Clayton County Foundation for the Future Endowment, also benefit from the Endow Iowa 25% State Tax Credit in addition to federal charitable income tax deductions.

Sadewasser also honored retiring board members Connie Halvorson and Pastor Harold McMillin for their service at the celebration. 

As an affiliate of the Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque, CCFF also works with its host to strengthen nonprofits by offering a variety of training programs and networking opportunities that build capacities and organizational structures. CCFF regularly evaluates nonprofits to assure donors and the Foundation that funds produce the maximum benefit for improving lives.

For more information on the CCFF, visit or call 563.245.2201.

Press Contact

Amy Manternach

About Us
Founded in 2002, the Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque strengthens communities and inspires giving. We are dedicated to improving the quality of life throughout Northeast Iowa by serving donors, making grants to local nonprofit organizations, and providing community leadership through convening and collaboration. Guided by the values of integrity, equity and inclusion, collaboration, excellence and innovation, we seek to ensure a vibrant and inclusive Greater Dubuque region with resources and opportunity for all.