Scholarship Funds Open Doors for Jackson County Students

Guttenberg native Logan Bries is currently pursuing a business degree at the University of Dubuque. Like many students, he didn’t want cost to prevent him from attending the college of his choice.

“When you go to college, you know it’s going to be really expensive,” he says. “A lot of people don’t end up going to college because they can’t afford it.”

Throughout the service region of the Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque (CFGD), endowed scholarship funds like Clayton Ridge Dollars for Scholars are providing a much-needed financial boost for students like Logan, allowing them to focus more on their education and less on their bank accounts.“I’m in Student Government, so Clayton Ridge Dollars for Scholars helped me focus more on that and helping other students instead of worrying about what’s going to happen to me financially and how I’m going to have to pay for next semester,” says Logan.

Endowed scholarship funds are invested and pay out 5% annually to provide a reliable source of support for students today and tomorrow. Donors who support an endowment fund at the Community Foundation may also be eligible for the Endow Iowa 25% State Tax Credit.

“This scholarship has been a lot of help,” adds Logan. “It pushed me towards a place where I wanted to go.”

In Jackson County, the Community Foundation of Jackson County supports the following scholarship funds (as of May 1, 2017):

Arthur & Ruth Carstensen-Youtz Memorial Scholarship Give Now
Barry Watters Citizenship Award Endowment Give Now
Bellevue Rotary Scholarship Give Now
Bill & Audrey Upmeyer Scholarship Give Now
Broman Family Fine Arts Scholarship Give Now
Caecilia McDermott Scholarship Give Now
David L. Ringen Scholarship Give Now
John A. "Doc" Broman Athletic Scholarship Give Now
Fern & Norm Hinke Scholarship Give Now
Gertrude Behne Memorial Scholarship Give Now
Grace Tubbs Memorial Scholarship Give Now
Harlan & Helene Ruff Scholarship Give Now
Jackson County Realtors Scholarship Fund Give Now
James Hughes Scholarship Give Now
Ken Mallas Maquoketa Class of 1961-66 Memorial Scholarship Give Now
Koski-Preston American Legion Scholarship Give Now
Laurabelle Mae Rutenbeck Scholarship Fund Give Now
Laurie Petersen Excellence in Music & Citizenship Award Give Now
Leo and Madeline Hughes Memorial Fund Scholarship  
Linda Hughes Memorial Scholarship Fund Give Now
Luke Osterhaus Scholarship Give Now
Maquoketa Community Class of 1979 Scholarship Give Now
Mary Ann Trevathan Scholarship Give Now
Mary Helen Merriam Stewart Scholarship Give Now
Olive Kendall Opportunity Award Give Now
Penrose Scholarship Give Now
Piano Festival Scholarship Give Now
Travis Gerardy Scholarship Give Now
Verda McLendon Scholarship Give Now
W. John & Elvira Koski Scholarship Give Now
Wilson & Hazel Cornelius Scholarship Give Now

Do you live in the Jackson County Area? Learn more about CFJC scholarship funds at

To explore other scholarship funds in the rural service region of CFGD, visit

Don't see the video above? Click here to watch.

Press Contact

Jeff Danna
Communications Manager

About Us
Founded in 2002, the Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque strengthens communities and inspires giving. We are dedicated to improving the quality of life throughout Northeast Iowa by serving donors, making grants to local nonprofit organizations, and providing community leadership through convening and collaboration. Guided by the values of integrity, equity and inclusion, collaboration, excellence and innovation, we seek to ensure a vibrant and inclusive Greater Dubuque region with resources and opportunity for all.